RSS
 

Archive for the ‘Scams’ Category

Gmail Scam Warning

08 Mar

Received this email today:

WARNING: There is a scam email going around with the subjust line:
“Email Access Verification”

They ask you to confirm your gmail address and password threatening that your account will be shut down if you do not respond in 48 hours. Google would never expect you to do this. This is a just an attempt to steal your email address.

DO NOT REPLY TO THE EMAIL. YOU WILL LOSE YOUR ACCOUNT AND THE SCAMMERS WILL HAVE ACCESS TO ALL THE INFORMATION IN YOUR ACCOUNT LIKE USERNAMES AND PASSWORDS TO OTHER SITES THAT YOU ARE ON. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

 
2 Comments

Posted in Scams

 

Scam Alert Thread : Let’s keep SA Alert and Informed

02 Dec

This is the place to post any scam experience you may have had,  you may know of or if something is smelling fishy this is the place to enquire.

Have you been scammed online or offline? Let’s help other people from becoming victims to the same culprits.

Details that may help:

Website where this is being advertised

Names being used

Email Addresses being used

Telephone Numbers being used

Details of the scam/potential scam

Read my post: 6 ways to identify a scam website

 
4 Comments

Posted in Scams

 

6 ways to identify a scam website

02 Oct

1. Does it sound to good to be true?

If it sounds to good to be true it probably is, but it is not always the case.

2. Does the Terms Of Agreement look suspicious?

I have copied a snippet from PaidBox.me TOA which had me stunned. PaidBox.me is suppose to be a new online payment processor. They claim to give you 50$ just for opening an account, 5$ per referral and up to 20$ per day for participation in the early-bird pre-launch.

“PayBox.me reserves the right to update and change the Terms of Service from time to time and without notice. Continued use of the Service after changes to the Terms of Service shall constitute your consent to such changes. ”

“PayBox.me reserves the right to modify or discontinue, temporarily or permanently, the Service (or any part thereof) with or without notice at any time.”

“We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone for any reason at any time.”

They could just as-well write: “We are a SCAM, but sign up anyway”

3.Do they respond to your questions?

Income4free.org has not responded to any of my questions or to any one else’s as a matter of fact. AW Surveys has also not responded to my confrontational email questioning them canceling memberships just before payments are expected. If my business was falsely accused I would definitely have a response. Definitely a big QUESTION MARK if they are legit.

4.What are other members experiences ?

Have members been paid ? and are their members which accounts are being cancelled for no reason ? Are they responding to questions posted by other members?

5.Does the company/persons involved have previous scam reports against them?

Once a scammer always a scammer. Do research on the companies/persons involved in the online opportunity you are wanting to join. If they were previously involved in scamming activities then you should stay clear away.

6. Are they using whois privacy service to hide their details?

If you have a legit business why would you want to hide your details?

Their is the odd case where you might want to do this but for any online business their should be no reason for hiding  your details.

WHOIS (pronounced as the phrase who is) is a query and response protocol that is widely used for querying databases that store the registered users or assignees of an Internet resource, such as a domain name, an IP address block, or an autonomous system, but is also used for a wider range of other information. The protocol stores and delivers database content in a human-readable format (Wikipedia definition)

You can run the WHOIS on the website in question here www.domaintools.com

 
3 Comments

Posted in Scams